Love Languages: 10 Tips For Your Relationship

February 20, 2011 at 6:49 pm | Posted in love/relationship/marriage | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , , ,

How are you expressing your love?

Based on Dr. Gary Chapman work, there are five love languages: Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service and Physical Touch. Here are some tips to help you become more satisfied about your relationship using these love languages as a guide:

Tip #1: Fill up your partner’s love tank

Ask your partner: ‘What could I do today that would make you feel loved and appreciated?’ Start making a list of the things that work best for them and you’ll soon have more ideas about their primary love language. Commit to doing what your partner wished for, given you want to and agree to their suggestion.

Tip #2: Listen to your spouse’s criticism Continue Reading Love Languages: 10 Tips For Your Relationship…

Love Language Part 3 – Receiving Gifts

August 27, 2008 at 4:27 pm | Posted in communication, love/relationship/marriage, self development/motivation | 2 Comments
Tags: , , ,
Receiving gifts can be a meaningful sign of Love

Gifts as a sign of Love

A gift is something that you can hold in your hand and say, “Look, he was thinking of me,” or “She remembered me.” You must be thinking of someone to give a gift. The gift itself is a symbol of that thought. It doesn’t matter if it costs money.

Gifts need not to expensive, nor must they be given weekly. But for some individuals, their worth has nothing to do with monetary value and everything to do with love.

Within every language, there are many dialects. Here below you will find just a few but in the end you need to understand your spouse’s dialect.

Purchased Gifts:

Anything you can imagine, how much it costs is less important than the thought that goes with it. If a millionaire gives only one-dollar gifts regularly, the spouse may question whether that is an expression of love, but when family finances are limited, a one-dollar gift may speak a million dollars worth of love.

Gifts you find:

For example a flower from the yard or side of the road, a shell from the beach, a special stick etc. Anything that you add meaning to.

The Gift of Self:

There is an intangible gift that sometimes speaks more loudly than a gift that can be held in one’s hand. This is the gift of self or the gift of presence. Being there when your spouse needs you speaks loudly to the one whose primary love language is receiving gifts.

If your spouse’s love language is RECEIVING GIFTS: Continue Reading Love Language Part 3 – Receiving Gifts…

Blog at
Entries and comments feeds.